Baby Blanket

I know a few people having babies, and decided to get a start on making some baby blankets.  I had this nice Miss Babs yarn in my stash that I thought would be gender neutral.  Miss Babs is nice because it’s superwash wool – nice and warm but can be put through the laundry.

The pattern I’m using is really simple.  Knit 4, Purl 4, repeat until you feel the blanket is wide enough and continue the pattern for 4 rows.  Then Purl 4, Knit 4.  It ends up looking like a basket weave, like this:

XXXX0000XXXX0000
0000XXXX0000XXXX

The pattern is turning out nicely, but I think I must have been a little delusional when I thought this yarn was gender neutral.  I swear it looked more red in the ball, but it’s turning out rather hot pink.

I’d say it’s about 1/3 as long as I want it to be.  It will stretch out a lot when I wash and block it.

Close up of the waffle/basket pattern:

Clearly this is not a blanket that can be given to a baby boy.  It’s Miss Babs Yowza! in Rose Garden.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby Blanket

  1. Mom says:

    It is beautiful. When I think baby, I think pastel, but maybe things are changing. You are such an awesome knitter!!!!

  2. Jodi Meadows says:

    What a great, simple pattern. I’d been thinking about wanting to knit a baby blanket some time, but didn’t want anything too involved…but not…garter stitch either.

Leave a Reply

